Site Map. Text Size. Search MU Research.
Office of Grant Writing & Publications.

Cybersecurity Innovation for Cyberinfrastructure (CICI)

Limited Submission Announcement

PLEASE READ: Internal Procedures for Limited Submissions


National Science Foundation (NSF)

Web Address:

Post Date:



Total funding for the CICI program is $10,000,000 to $12,000,000, subject to the availability of funds. Secure Scientific Cyberinfrastructure awards will be supported at up to $1,000,000 total per award for up to three years. Research Data Protection awards will be supported at up to $1,000,000 total per award for up to three years. A single Collaborative Security Response Center award will be supported at up to $5,000,000 for up to three years.

Campus Deadline:


External Deadline(s):

June 4, 2018 l 5:00 p.m. CT


Organizations are limited to 2 CICI proposals.

The objective of the Cybersecurity Innovation for Cyberinfrastructure (CICI) program is to develop, deploy and integrate security solutions that benefit the scientific community by ensuring the integrity, resilience and reliability of the end-to-end scientific workflow. CICI seeks three categories of projects:

  1. Secure Scientific Cyberinfrastructure: These awards seek to secure the scientific workflow by encouraging novel and trustworthy architectural and design approaches, models and frameworks for the creation of a holistic, integrated security environment that spans the entire scientific CI ecosystem;
  2. Collaborative Security Response Center: This single award targets the development of a community resource to provide security monitoring, analysis, expertise, and resources Research & Education (R&E) cyberinfrastructure staff, regardless of physical location or organization; and
  3. Research Data Protection: These awards provide solutions that both ensure the provenance of research data and reduce the complexity of protecting research data sets regardless of funding source.


All limited submission announcements can be tracked by deadline via the Calendar at or by announcement date via the Limited Submissions listing at