University of Missouri - Columbia.
Back to Story Archive

Posted 11.28.06


Three MU Researchers Named AAAS Fellows

COLUMBIA, MO - Three researchers at the University of Missouri-Columbia have been awarded the distinction of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, which announced the complete list of AAAS Fellows in its Nov. 24 edition.

Carol Ward, Sashi Satpathy, Peter Tipton.Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. This year, 449 members were awarded this AAAS honor. New MU Fellows are:

Related Links


Carol V. Ward, associate professor in the Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences in MU's School of Medicine, was awarded in the section on anthropology for her distinguished contributions to paleoanthropology (the study of human evolution, tracing anatomic, behavioral and genetic linkages of modern humans to pre-humans from millions of years age), especially in the description and analysis of the fossil remains of early humans and apes in a functional context.

Sashi Satpathy, professor of physics in MU's College of Arts and Science, was awarded in the section on physics for his distinguished contributions to the physics of the electronic structure of solids, especially to the theory of strongly correlated oxides and their interfaces.

Peter A. Tipton, professor of biochemistry in MU's College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources and the School of Medicine, was awarded in the section on chemistry for his studies of unusual enzymatic mechanisms and the discovery of new enzymes.

The new Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin Saturday, Feb. 17, at the Fellows Forum at the 2007 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association's 24 sections or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee¿s institution) or by the AAAS Chief Executive Officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section, and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million.



MU News Bureau: