University of Missouri - Columbia.
Main.  Illumination.  Funding.  Compliance.  Forms.  Policies.  Tech Transfer.  Research Division.  Links.
Back to Story Archive
Posted 10.28.04

Five MU Professors Selected as AAAS Fellows

COLUMBIA, Mo. Five University of Missouri-Columbia professors were selected as 2004 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellows. The rank of fellow is bestowed on members by their peers because of their efforts to advance science or its applications.

AAAS is a professional society dedicated to advancing science to help people. Fellows will be awarded a certificate and rosette pin on Feb. 19 at the Fellows Forum during the 2005 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

"This recognition demonstrates the impressive quality of our faculty at MU," said Jim Coleman, vice provost for research. "To be recognized by your peers is an incredible honor for our researchers, who are making leading discoveries in their fields on a regular basis. At MU, these researchers also have the opportunity to impact undergraduate and graduate students by working with them in our classrooms and labs."

The following MU professors were among the 308 selected nationwide:

Sandra Abell, professor of science education, was recognized for her work in elementary science education and leadership. Abell is the director of the Southwestern Bell Science Education Center, which is dedicated to the improvement of science teaching and learning from kindergarten through undergraduate students. She earned a doctorate from the University of Iowa in 1988.

Candace Galen, professor of biological sciences, was recognized for her work in plant ecology and floral evolution. Currently, Galen is focusing on the ecological and evolutionary consequences of variation in characteristics of wildflowers. In 1983, she received a doctorate from the University of Texas-Austin.

Rainer Glaser, professor in chemistry, was recognized for his research in chemistry and contributions to promote scientific literacy and communication. Glaser recently completed research on the process of diazonium ion hydrolysis, a chemical process in which water replaces nitrogen in diazonium ions, which are used in dyes and other applications. He also began Chemistry Is in the News (CIITN), a teaching program that relates chemistry to current events in the real world. Glaser earned a doctorate from the University of California-Berkley in 1987.

Emmanuel Liscum, professor of biological sciences, was acknowledged for identification of genetic and biochemical components affecting plant responses to light. In 1992, he earned a doctorate from The Ohio State University.

John Charles Walker, professor of biological sciences, was recognized for pioneering the field of receptor-like protein kinases in plants. Currently, his lab investigates how plant genomes act as regulatory switches. He earned a doctorate from the University of Georgia in 1985.

AAAS was founded in 1848 and serves 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. It also publishes the journal Science.


    MU News Bureau:  
© 2005 Curators of the University of Missouri. Webmaster e-mail:  


Research at MU. Press Releases & Multimedia.