University of Missouri - Columbia.
Main.  Illumination.  Funding.  Compliance.  Forms.  Policies.  Tech Transfer.  Research Division.  Links.
Back to Story Archive
Posted 11.08.04

2004-2005 Undergraduate Research Scholars Announced

COLUMBIA, Mo. The MU Office of Undergraduate Research is pleased to announce the MU Undergraduate Research Scholars for the 2004-2005 Academic Year. The Undergraduate Research Scholars Program is funded by the Office of Research and the MU Honors College. Twelve exceptional students were selected by a faculty committee from a campus-wide pool of applicants. Scholars will receive a $2000 stipend scholarship and present the results of their research at the MU Undergraduate Research Conference on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 in Memorial Union. A list of scholars, their faculty mentors, and project titles can be found below:

Tamika Barkley, Psychology
Dr. Colleen Sinclair, Psychological Sciences
Title: Me, myself or my family: Examining the influence of third parties on romantic relationships

Curt Canine, Nursing
Dr. Donna Williams, Nursing
Title: Capillary hydraulic conductivity, infection, and leukocyte activation

Beth Carter, Fisheries and Wildlife
Dr. Matt Gompper, Fisheries and Wildlife
Title: The ecology and epidemiology of raccoon roundworm prevalence at Basket Wildlife Area

Victoria Gormley, Physical Therapy
Dr. Erin Dannecker, Physical Therapy
Title: Sex differences in muscle pain: Effects on self-care behaviors and activities of daily living

Melinda Kampmann, Psychology
Dr. Anna Bardone-Cone, Psychological Sciences
Title: Impact of food choices on behavior expectancy and judgments of morality

Andrew Littlefield, Psychology/Marketing
Dr. Kristina Jackson, Psychological Sciences
Title: Individual differences in alcohol and tobacco users: Self-classification and problem recognition

Hannah Reeves, Fine Art
Dr. Jo Stealey, Fine Arts
Title: The development and divergence of craft and art quilting

Matt Simpson, Physics
Dr. Haskell Taub, Physics
Title: Atomic force microscopy measurements of dotriacontane films absorbed on SiO2

Maria Speiser, Political Science
Dr. David Webber, Political Science
TItle: Mental health policy: Achieving parity in healthcare coverage

Nina Verbanez, History
Dr. Lois Huneycutt, History
Title: Twelfth-century women’s paradox: Power and perceptions

Christopher Volz, Physics
Dr. Ioan Kosztin, Physics
Title: Water transport through carbon nanotubes: A molecular dynamics study

Mallory Wood, Communication Science & Disorders
Dr. Stacy Silverman, Communication Science & Disorders
Title: Relationship between conversational language performance and stuttering over time


    MU News Bureau:  
© 2005 Curators of the University of Missouri. Webmaster e-mail:  


Research at MU. Press Releases & Multimedia.